Don Henley’s “New York Minute” Rewritten into “North Hill Minute” (Based upon my summer location)

I awoke
prepared to pack
Walked up to the balcony
Then I fell on my back
Dan found me laying
Bloodied from the Earth’s thwack
And I didn’t cooking Breakfast
In the morning

I have a family
The love of a man
But I became lost this time
As the hours spanned
This day I crossed that line
And I was so lost from my world
But I guess it doesn’t matter anymore

In a North Hill minute
Everything can change
In a North Hill minute
Things can get pretty straaaaange
In a North Hill minute
Everything can change
In a North Hill minute

Lying there in the darkness
I heard my whole world wail
Dan took me to the emergency room
As my whole body flailed
If you find somebody to love in this world
You better hang on tooth and nail
The wolf is always at the door

In a North Hill minute
Everything can change
In a North Hill minute
Things can get a little strange
In a North Hill minute
Everything can change
In a North Hill minute.

And in these days
When darkness falls early
And people rush home
To the ones they love
You better take a fool’s advice
And take care of your own
One day we’re here;
Next day we’re gone

Dan placed my coat ’round my shoulders
We took a walk down the road
The leaves were falling around us
My being groaned as the tears flowed
In my busy house
My desparate life screamed at me
“Find yourself and let life be.”

What the head makes cloudy
The heart makes very clear
The days are so much brighter
All the time Dan’s been here
And I know I found my man
who makes dark clouds disappear
Since that day, I totally believe
I believe, I believe

In a North Hill minute
Everything can change
In a North Hill minute
You can get out of the raiiiiin
In a North Hill minute
Everything can change
In a North Hill minute

Written 4/11/2015

Leave a Reply

