John Denver’s “I’m Sorry” Rewritten

It’s warm here in Pensacola, it mostly seems that way.
And I’ve been thinkin’ about you almost everyday.
Thinkin’ about fries and Coke, thinkin’ about pipe smoke.
Thinkin’ about how life can naturally fade away.

I’m sorry for the way things are without us children.
I’m sorry things were hardly as they seemed.
But more than anything else, I’m sorry for the end.
‘Cause we cannot pretend.

My friends all ask about you, I say I don’t know.
I never expect to hear from you at anytime.
They all know I’m missin’, missin’ both of you.
When we’re together, it can never be true.

I’m sorry for all our losses.
I’m sorry w’eve given each other dismay.
But more than anything else, I’m sorry for us all.
I can’t believe you went away.

I’m sorry if I took some things for granted.
I’m sorry for the anger I caused you.
But more than anything else, I’m sorry for the end.
‘Cause we cannot pretend.

Written: 4/16/2015

Leave a Reply

