Reba McEntire’s “I’m a Survivor” Rewritten

I birthed my children early
And invested many days
I’ve always had a mother’s will
And God’s amazing grace
I guess I’ll keep on living
Even if this love is to die for
Because you tried to steal my family
You’ve long walked out and I’m not trying to change your mind
Cause I was born to be…
The baby girl without a chance
A victim of the circumstance
The one who ought to give up
But she’s just too hard-headed
A married mom who works three jobs
I love my kids and never stop
With gentle hands and a heart of a fighter
I’m a survivor
I don’t believe in self-pity
It only brings you down
May be the queen of broken hearts
But I don’t hide behind the crown
When the deck is stacked against me
I just play a different game
My roots are planted in the past
And though my life is changing’ fast
Who I am is who I wanna be
The baby girl without a chance
A victim of circumstance
The one who ought to give up
But I’m just too hard headed
A married mom who works three jobs
I love my kids and never stop
With gentle hands and a heart of a fighter
I’m a survivor….
Oh…A married mom who works three jobs
I love my kids and never stop
With gentle hands and a heart of a fighter
I’m a survivor….
And I’ve always had a mother’s will and God’s
amazing grace
I’m a survivor…(Say once then hum)

Written on 5/8/2015

Leave a Reply

