Five for Fighting’s “Superman” Rewritten

I won’t run and hide
I will never flee
I’m just out to find
The best in “the new me”
I’m more than a girl; I’m more than a Jane
More than a random face with a damaged brain
It’s not easy to be me

Wish that I could cry fly
Be filled with much glee
Reach up to the sky
Be as free as I can be

It may sound absurd but don’t be naive
I still have the right to weep
I may be disturbed but won’t you concede
We all have the right to scream
It’s not easy to be me

Grounded is how I aim to be.
It’s all right. I will get some sleep tonight

I’m not crazy or anything
I won’t run and hide
I am not that weak
We weren’t meant to ride
With clouds between our knees

I’m only a gal fighting a feat
Fighting for my life on this one way street
I’m only a gal fighting a feat
Looking for special things inside of me
It’s not easy to be me.

2 thoughts on “Five for Fighting’s “Superman” Rewritten

  1. Thank you for the compliment. My blog is largely autobiographic with self-help tips based on obtaining TBI (traumatic brain injury). Furthermore, based on the TBI, I can no longer smell, which means flavor is gone.

    I started this blog started once I returned home from rehabilitation. It is full of how I have altered my life based on poor/abusive upbringing, the brain injury, etc. So, there are many topics that I dabble writing. My goal is to help others with their own challenges along with pointing to silver linings.

    Warmly,
    Abi

    Like

Leave a Reply

