Pride in Oneself

“Vanity and pride are different things, though the words are often used synonymously. A person may be proud without being vain. Pride relates more to our opinion of ourselves, vanity to what we would have others think of us.”
Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice

I have always considered pride and vanity to be the same. I think that this largely stems from the fact that I was not allowed to share my thoughts and feelings I had and it be treated with acceptance. Rather, I was taught that my own thoughts and feelings were disrespectful. With such an upbringing, it is very difficult to even consider letting myself have pride. Recently, I was talking with someone who said that we all should have pride in ourselives, because when we are getting ready to die, we do not need to spend the last moments of our lives full of regret and woes. I have been pondering this lately, and I do understand his stance more.

I love giving to others. I aim to do so, not for accolades but to make a difference. If I was doing this with effort, then there would be little or no satisfaction in it. However, being I do this from my heart, it is quite therapeutic. I take pride in this being a part of who I am. If I were to do this for others’ approval, etc, that would be full of vanity. However, I am happy never having a popular name. We are all people, and helping souls one by one is wonderful. Sure, if I had the ability, I would love to help the masses. However, each one of us is merely a grain of sand. But one grain of sand changes the ocean floor depth, etc.t o

I am on a journey to having  a healthy pride in myself. I hope my children grow by leaps and bounds ahead of where I am.

 

Leave a comment